# NORTH HERTFORDSHIRE DISTRICT COUNCIL

### MINUTES

#### Meeting of the Council held in the Council Chamber, District Council Offices, Gernon Road, Letchworth Garden City on Thursday, 6th September, 2018 at 7.00 pm

- PRESENT: Councillors Councillor John Bishop (Chairman), Councillor Jean Green (Vice-Chairman), Ian Albert, Daniel Allen, David Barnard, Clare Billing, Judi Billing, Ruth Brown, Val Bryant. Paul Clark, Sam Collins. Julian Cunningham, Bill Davidson, Steve Deakin-Davies, Simon Harwood, Terry Hone, Tony Hunter, Steve Jarvis, David Levett, Bernard Lovewell, Jim McNally, Ian Mantle, Paul Marment, Ian Moody, Michael Muir, Lynda Needham, Sue Ngwala, Oliver, Janine Paterson, Harry Spencer-Smith, Mike Rice. Val Shanley, Martin Stears-Handscomb. Claire Strong. Richard Thake, Terry Tyler and Michael Weeks
- *IN ATTENDANCE:* Anthony Roche (Deputy Chief Executive), Jeanette Thompson (Service Director Legal and Community), Ian Couper (Service Director Resources), Sarah Kingsley (Communications Manager), Reuben Ayavoo (Senior Policy Officer) and Hilary Dineen (Acting Committee and Member Services Manager)
- ALSO PRESENT: At the Commencement of the meeting Alderman Joan Kirby, Mrs Lorna Kercher and 8 members of the public

# 32 AUDIO VISUAL EQUIPMENT AND VOTING SYSTEM

The Acting Committee and Member Services Manager informed Members that new Audio Visual equipment and voting system had been installed in the Council Chamber.

She explained how the audio visual and voting systems worked and that voting would now take place using the unit in front of each Member instead of the raising of hands.

Once each vote had taken place the result, including who voted and how would appear on the screens around the Chamber.

### 33 APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Elizabeth Dennis Harburg, Gerald Morris and Deepak Sangha.

#### 34 HONORARY ALDERMAN

Councillor Lynda Needham, Leader of the Council, explained that the purpose of this Extraordinary meeting of the Council was to confer the title of Honorary Alderman of North Hertfordshire District Council on former Councillor Lorna Kercher.

It was moved by Councillor Lynda Needham and seconded by Councillor Julian Cunningham that this Council placed on record its appreciation to former Councillor Lorna Kercher for her long service to the people of North Hertfordshire.

A number of Members paid tribute to former Councillor Kercher in respect of her dedicated service as a councillor.

Upon the motion being put to the vote, it was

**RESOLVED:** That, in pursuance of Section 249(1) of the Local Government Act 1972, the title of Honorary Alderman of the District of North Hertfordshire be conferred upon Mrs Lorna Kercher in recognition of the eminent service rendered by her to the North Hertfordshire District Council during the period she was a Member of the Council.

The Chairman presented Honorary Alderman Lorna Kercher with a framed certificate of office to mark her new position.

Honorary Alderman Kercher thanked all Members of the Council for the honour bestowed on her. She also thanked them and officers for all the support they had given her during her time in office.

The meeting closed at 7.20 pm

Chairman